View All Events

‘Arrivals and Departures’ Laura van der Heijden plays Haydn and Vivaldi

Laura-van-der-HeijdenHandel – The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
Alec Roth – Departure of the Queen of Sheba
Haydn – Cello Concerto no2 in D
Vivaldi – Concerto for two cellos in G minor
Haydn – Symphony No 45 ‘Farewell’

Stacey Watton – conductor
Laura van der Heijden – cello
Nick Stringfellow – cello

Bookended by one of music’s most famous (and glorious) arrivals and one of its most famous (and humorous) departures, are two thrilling concertos – for one, and then two cellos – as well as Alec Roth’s romantic response to Handel’s celebration of pomp and circumstance. Partly inspired by Ana Maria Pacheco’s 1999 painting, Queen of Sheba and King Solomon in the Garden of Earthly Delights, this music gently leads us behind the public façade to witness the two lovers – beautifully depicted by oboe and cor anglais – at the point of heartbreaking separation.

Event Details

Venue: Stamford Arts Centre
Date: 13 Oct 2018
Time: From 7:30 pm until 9:30 pm