Upcoming Events


Time and date:
17/06 at 7:30 PM
Town Hall Imperial Square, Cheltenham GL50 1QA
Artist Image

Thursday June 17th 2021, 7.30pm Cheltenham Town Hall

Ravel – Pavanne
Strauss – Metamorphosen
Strauss – Oboe Concerto
Ravel – Tombeau de Couperin

Conductor – Michael Seal
Oboe – Nicholas Daniel 

Contrasting works concerned with memory and imagination from two giants of early 20th century music. Scored for 23 solo strings, Strauss’s Metamorphosen is a deeply personal tribute to the ruined cities and culture of 2nd World War Germany. Baroque elegance provided the inspiration for Ravel’s homage to friends killed between 1914 and 1917. Le Tombeau de Couperin is, however, an uplifting and lighthearted experience. Strauss’s wistful and nostalgic Oboe Concerto, likewise, seems to recall earlier musical forms and, composed in 1945, was to be one of his last major works. The concert opens with Ravel’s evocation of a pavane that “a little princess might, in former times, have danced at the Spanish court”.