View All Events

Michael Collins plays Mozart at Stratford Play House

Stravinsky – Concerto in D
Mozart – Clarinet Concerto in A major
Stravinsky – Concerto in Eb ‘Dumbarton Oaks’
Mozart – Symphony no40

Michael Collins – clarinet/director


Flanked by two of Stravinsky’s most engaging American compositions – his Concerto in D for strings and Brandenburg-inspired ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ for chamber orchestra – sits one of Mozart’s greatest and latest achievements. Written less than two months before his early death, this pivotal work – in the sunny key of A major – contains everything you ever need to know about the clarinet: especially how, in Michael Collins’ hands, it can be made to sing! Three years earlier, Mozart had also produced his three final symphonies: this astonishing central one – in the profound key of G minor – capable of forever changing how we think of classical music.

Pre-concert talk: 6.30pm
Concert: 7.30pm

Tickets: from £9.50 to 29.50

Save 20% when you book to see 3+ concerts
Save 30% when you book to see 6+ concerts

All Stratford-upon-Avon series tickets are on sale at the RSC Box Office, Waterside,
Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BB – Tel: 01789 403 493 –

Event Details

Venue: Stratford Play House
Date: 4 Dec 2018
Time: From 7:30 pm until 9:30 pm