View All Events

Michael Collins plays Mozart at Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Stravinsky – Concerto in D
Mozart – Clarinet Concerto in A major
Hannah Liu – Earthly Things (world premiere)
Stravinsky – Concerto in Eb ‘Dumbarton Oaks’
Mozart – Symphony no40

Michael Collins – clarinet/director


Flanked by two of Stravinsky’s most engaging American compositions – his Concerto in D for strings and Brandenburg-inspired ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ for chamber orchestra – sits one of Mozart’s greatest and latest achievements. Written less than two months before his early death, this pivotal work – in the sunny key of A major – contains everything you ever need to know about the clarinet: especially how, in Michael Collins’ hands, it can be made to sing! Three years earlier, Mozart had also produced his three final symphonies: this astonishing central one – in the profound key of G minor – capable of forever changing how we think of classical music. The programme will include a new commission by Hannah Liu, a student of composition at Royal Birmingham Conservatoire.

Pre-concert talk: 1.30pm
Chris Morley (Music Critic, Birmingham Post) discusses the history and complexity of directing an orchestra from a solo instrument with soloist & conductor Michael Collins
Concert: 2.30pm

Tickets: from £5 ( BCU Staff and Students) to 25

Save 20% when you book to see 3+ concerts
Save 30% when you book to see 5 concerts

Box Office 0121 331 5908/0121 331 5909

Event Details

Venue: Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
Date: 5 Dec 2018
Time: From 2:30 pm until 4:30 pm