View All Events

Romantic Strings

Tchaikovsky Andante Cantabile (from String Quartet, Op. 11)
Mendelssohn Concert Pieces Op113 & 114 for Two Clarinets
Mendelssohn String Symphony no7 in D minor
Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings Orchestra
Sally Harrop and Luan Shaw – clarinet
Jason Lai – conductor
An evening with two extremely effective works by Mendelssohn, one which celebrates the unique sound and performance technique of the clarinet family and the other which marks Mendelssohn’s transition into the world of mature Symphonic composition. The concert starts with the melancholic Andante cantabile of the String Quartet No. 1 in D major, a famous movement in its own right; one of the late Romantic era’s definitive compositions is the perfect ending.
Tickets: £15.50
6.45pm What’s the Score? A pre-concert talk with Jason Lai and guests (free to ticket holders)
Save 20% when you book to see all 4 concerts in the Number 8 series

Event Details

Venue: Number 8, Pershore
Date: 16 Mar 2018
Time: From 7:30 pm