Psalm: Trumpet Concertos with S. Desbruslais


  1. Skyspace: I. Aurum – Deborah Pritchard
  2. Skyspace: II. Aurum Resonance – Deborah Pritchard
  3. Skyspace: III. Light Iridescent – Deborah Pritchard
  4. Skyspace: IV. Opaque – Deborah Pritchard
  5. Skyspace: V. Opaque Resonance – Deborah Pritchard
  6. Skyspace: VI. Dark Iridescent – Deborah Pritchard
  7. Skyspace: VI. Cerulean – Deborah Pritchard
  8. Psalm – A Song of Ascents – Robert Saxton
  9. Trumpet Concerto “La Primavera”: I. Allegro – John McCabe
  10. Trumpet Concerto “La Primavera”: II. Andante – John McCabe
  11. Trumpet Concerto “La Primavera”: III. Quick – John McCabe
  12. Shakespeare Scenes: I. The Magic Wood – Robert Saxton
  13. Shakespeare Scenes: II. Falstaff – Robert Saxton
  14. Shakespeare Scenes: III. The Storm on the Heath – Robert Saxton
  15. Shakespeare Scenes: IV. Masque – Robert Saxton
  16. Shakespeare Scenes: V. The Magic Island – Robert Saxton

1 in stock



Simon Desbruslais leads the performances on this disc of world premiere recordings from some of the UK’s leading composers.

Desbruslais’s immaculate playing and faultless musicality serve all these works well. I do not think that his playing in these works could be bettered…The Orchestra of the Swan’s committed… — 

Seeking to expand the trumpet’s repertoire of concerto and orchestra works, Simon Desbruslais was inspired after performing Robert Saxton’s Psalm to help comission the three new works on this programme: Saxton’s Shakespeare Scenes, Deborah Pritchard’s Skyspace and John McCabe’s La Primavera.