Serenade at Armscote Manor


Two thrilling works for string orchestra performed in the beautiful and intimate surroundings of Armscote Manor

Grieg’s Holberg Suite was written in 1884 to mark the 200th anniversary of Ludvig Holberg, the Dano-Norwegian humanist playwright. Although based on eighteenth century dance forms it exemplifies late nineteenth century romanticism. The adrenaline rush of the Praeludium and the gorgeously sorrowful Air are particular highlights. Mozart was the inspiration for Tchaikovsky’s Serenade, evident in his use of refined melodic dialogue and motor rhythmic semiquavers. Symphonic passion and cathartic pathos are present too, of course, and there is a delightful nod to his effervescent ballet music in the Valse.

Grieg Holberg Suite Op. 40

Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings Op. 48


Director David Le Page

Tickets cost £45 and include fizz and canapés

Out of stock