John Ireland: Music for String Orchestra




John Ireland’s music is often a response to landscape and romantic sensitivities. With its significant musical clues, broad, songlike melodies and turbulent finale, the Sonata in G minor is one of his most expressive and passionate works. A Downland Suite is one of Ireland’s most attractive compositions, especially its exquisite Elegy and popular Minuet made familiar through its use in radio and television. Ireland’s evocative piano works lend themselves well to string orchestra arrangements. They include the exquisite miniature Soliloquy and In a May Morning, the second movement of Sarnia, inspired by spring on Guernsey.

Raphael Wallfisch cello
David Curtis conductor
Orchestra of the Swan

“Curtis and the orchestra bring passages of richer sonorities, wonderfully judged and nuanced… a delightful disc of arrangements that provide some really beautiful English string gems, exquisitely played by all concerned” The Classical Reviewer


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “John Ireland: Music for String Orchestra”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *