Following the success of Timelapse, Labyrinths is a collection of extraordinary works connected by ideas of pilgrimage, contemplation, exploration and enlightenment through the works of composers such as Richter, Respighi, Britten, Piazzolla, Brian Eno, Nico Muhly, Joy Division and more. As with Timelapse, the joy is to be found in discovering the surprising and delightful connections between culturally disparate and musically contrasting time periods. Labyrinths have been an important part of humanity’s cultural landscape for thousands of years; from the Ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur to the intriguing stories of Jorge Luis Borges and Umberto Eco. Our overwhelming desire to find patterns and ‘the hidden truth’ is perhaps nowhere more evident than in the subversive and complex vistas of music.

“A Beautiful, winding an unexpected journey…” Apple

“An immersive, atmospheric mixtape: ‘Labyrinths’ from Orchestra of the Swan” ArtMuse

“Labyrinths is a perfectly judged playlist: thoroughly enjoyable, superbly performed…offering a satisfying listening experience from top to toe” – Classical Explorer

“…Explores ideas of pilgrimage, contemplation and enlightenment, filtered through a sequence of beautifully atmospheric music, imaginatively arranged and exquisitely performed…There is truly “something for everyone” on this album… And that ambient Eno track? It’s the perfect close to this brilliantly conceived, generous and rewarding recording. Highly recommended” – The Cross-Eyed Pianist

“the Orchestra of the Swan presents a wildly eclectic programme, which makes for an exciting listen…the solos are ethereal and thoughtful” – BBC Music Magazine





1 On the Nature of Daylight – Max Richter (b.1966)
2 La Columba/The Dove (Gli Uccelli/The Birds) – Ottorino Respighi (1879 -1936), Soloist: Victoria Brawn (oboe)
3 La Rotta – Anon arr. David Le Page – Soloist: Guy Schalom (darbuka), Trish Clowes (sax)
4 Lamentation (Cantata Klaglied, BuxWV76) – Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707) / David Gordon (b.1965), Soloists: David Le Page (violin), David Gordon (piano)
5 Cold Genius (King Arthur) – Henry Purcell (1659-1695), Soloist: Jim Moray (vocals)
6 A Prayer – David Le Page (b.1971), Soloist: David Le Page (violin)
7 Dog and Frog (Confessions) – Nico Muhly (b.1981) – Soloists: David Gordon (harpsichord), Mark Ashford (guitar), Diane Clarke (flute)
8 William of Barbary – Trad. arr. Jim Moray, Soloist: Jim Moray (vocals)
9 Comptine d’un autre été: L’Après-midi (Amélie) – Yann Tiersen (b.1970) arr. David Le Page, Soloists: David Le Page (violin), Eleanor Turner (harp)

10 Oblivion – Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) arr. Eduardo Garcia, Soloist: Sally Harrop (clarinet)
11 New Dawn Fades – Ian Curtis (1956-1980) / Bernard Sumner (b.1956) / Stephen Morris (b.1957) / Peter Hook (b.1956) aka Joy Division arr. David Le Page Soloist: David Le Page (violin)
12 Bounce – Trish Clowes (b.1984), Soloist: Trish Clowes (saxophone)
13 Pastoral (Serenade for Tenor, Horn & Strings, Op.31/2) –Benjamin Britten (1913-1976), Soloists: Nicky Spence (tenor), Francesca Moore-Bridger (horn)
14 See Emily Play – Roger Keith “Syd” Barrett (1946-2006) arr. David Le Page, Soloist: Trish Clowes (saxophone)
15 Farewell to Stromness – Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016) arr. Rosemary Furniss, Soloist: David Le Page (violin)
16 An Ending (Ascent) – Brian Eno (b.1948) arr. David Le Page